MMC Hitachi Tool MMC Hitachi Tool Engineering Europe GmbH

Logo: Advanced Engineering

The broad range of solid carbide end mills from MMC Hitachi Tool.

The Epoch21 series end mills make up the most extensive range of micro-grain solid carbide substrate for die-making and mould-making.

Cutting-edge miniature end mills

EPDBP Epoch Deep Ball Pencil Neck
EPDRP Epoch Deep Radius Pencil Neck


With the machining of deep ribs and slots as well as the machining of deep contours of up to 35xØ in precision parts in mind, MMC Hitachi Tool has developed the new micro-grain solid carbide miniature series Epoch Deep Pencil Neck, which is available in two versions: ball-nose and toric. Up to now, this type of machining had involved highly time-consuming EDM processes.

With the Epoch Deep Pencil Neck series, the user now has the necessary rigidity and requisite extended tool lifetime to make this type of complex milling operation economical and dependable. Needless to say, this applies equally to the use of high-speed machining (HSM) and materials with a hardness of up to 70Hrc.

The benefits that this new series of end mills provides are largely the result of developments made by MMC Hitachi Tool in tool und cutting geometry and coatings technology. The wholly revamped under-neck section used in the Epoch Deep Pencil Neck series, coupled with its optimised length ratios, have increased the resistance to breakage by 200% and significantly reduced the risk of tool breakage.

This is achieved thanks to the effective under-neck length at 0.4° & 0.9°, as well as the radial transition to the shaft which, in turn, is rounded off with a neck angle. Added to this is the back-draft cutting geometry with smaller contact area which, when machining long overhangs especially, has a very positive impact on the quiet running characteristics, surface quality and dimensional accuracy as it suppresses chattering vibrations.

What’s more, the end mills come ready coated with MMC Hitachi Tool’s new NANO PVD TH45+ coating. This new coating, which has already proven its worth in a number of applications, enables significantly longer tool lifetime when machining hardened materials, especially in dry-cutting. Another feature of the Epoch Deep Pencil Neck end mills is their increased effective length which is especially apparent with existing draft angles.

Example: When machining a workpiece with a draft angle of 1° using a radius end mill with a radius of 0.5 mm and an under-neck length of 10 mm, the EPDBP Epoch Deep Ball Pencil Neck with a neck angle of 0.9° offers an effective length of 11.2 mm, while the EPDRP Epoch Deep Radius Pencil Neck with a neck angle of 0.9° offers a workable reach of 11.24 mm. By comparison, conventional geometries only allow for an effective length of 10.8 mm.

Product Details / Technical Data

Features EPDBP Epoch Deep Ball Pencil Neck:
Tool type:Solid carbide miniature radius end mill
Material:Micro-grain substrate
Radius tolerance:± 5µ (0.005mm)
Dimensions:R0.1 (Ø0.2)mm up to R1.5 (Ø3)mm
Effective length:up to 35xØ
Taper:0.4° and 0.9°
Types available:50
Features EPDRP Epoch Deep Radius Pencil Neck:
Tool type:Toric solid carbide miniature end mill
Material:Micro-grain substrate
Corner radius tolerance:± 5µ (0.005mm)
Dimensions:Ø0.2mm up to Ø3mm
Corner radius:0.05mm up to 0.5mm
Effective length:up to 35xØ
Taper0.4° and 0.9°
Types available:32


Herr Dilek Serifoglu
MMC Hitachi Tool Engineering Europe GmbH
Itterpark 12
40724 Hilden

MMC Hitachi Tool MMC Hitachi Tool Engineering Europe GmbH

Logo: Advanced Engineering

Das breite Vollhart­metallfräser-Programm von MMC Hitachi Tool.

Die Fräser aus dem Epoch21 Programm bilden das umfassendste Angebot an Feinstkorn-Vollhartmetall Substrat für den Werkzeug- und Formenbau.

Miniatur-Fräser mit Biss.

EPDBP Epoch Deep Ball Pencil Neck
EPDRP Epoch Deep Radius Pencil Neck

EPDBP und EPDRP

Speziell für die Bearbeitung tiefer Rippen und Nuten und für die Bearbeitung tiefer Konturen bis zu 35xØ in Präzisionsteilen hat MMC Hitachi Tool die neue Mikro-Feinstkorn-Vollhartmetall-Miniaturserie Epoch Deep Pencil Neck entwickelt, erhältlich in zwei Ausführungen, Kugel und Torisch. Bisher waren für solche Bearbeitungen sehr zeitintensive Erodier-Prozesse notwendig.

Die Epoch Deep Pencil Neck Serie bietet dem Anwender jetzt die erforderliche Stabilität und die notwendigen längeren Standzeiten um auch solche schwierigen Bearbeitungen wirtschaftlich und prozesssicher Fräsen zu können. Dies gilt natürlich auch für den Einsatz in Hochgeschwindigkeits-Bearbeitungen (HSM) und harten Werkstoffen bis 70Hrc.

Die Vorzüge der neuen Fräserserie basieren auf der gezielten Entwicklungsarbeit von MMC Hitachi Tool im Hinblick auf die Werkzeug- und Schneidgeometrie und der Beschichtungstechnologie. Der völlig neu entwickelte Schaftübergang der Epoch Deep Pencil Neck Serie und seine optimalen Längenverhältnisse steigern die Biegefestigkeit um 200% und reduzieren die Gefahr des Werkzeugbruchs erheblich.

Erreicht wird dies durch die konische Nutzlänge in 0,4° & 0,9°, und den radialen Übergang zum Schaft, der wiederum mit einem Konus abschließt. Hinzu kommt noch die in tropfenform hinterschliffene Schneidgeometrie mit verringerter Kontaktfläche, die sich besonders bei Bearbeitungen mit langen Auskraglängen sehr positiv auf die Laufruhe, Oberflächengüte und Maßhaltigkeit auswirkt, da diese die Bildung von Vibrationsmarken verhindert.

Zusätzlich verfügen die Fräser bereits über die neue MMC Hitachi Tool-NANO-PVD-Beschichtung TH45+. Diese neue, aber bereits in vielen Anwendungen bewährte Beschichtung, ermöglicht erheblich längere Standzeiten bei der Bearbeitung gehärteter Materialien, ganz besonders in der Trockenbearbeitung. Eine weitere Besonderheit der Epoch Deep Pencil Neck Fräser ist die erhöhte effektiv nutzbare Länge, die sich besonders bei eventuell vorhandenen Entformungsschrägen bemerkbar macht.

Beispiel: Bei der Bearbeitung eines Werkstücks mit einer Entformungsschräge von 1° mit einem Radiusfräser Radius 0,5mm und einer Nutzlänge von 10mm, bietet der EPDBP Epoch Deep Ball Pencil Neck mit einem Konus von 0,9° eine effektiv nutzbare Länge von 11,2mm und der EPDRP Epoch Deep Radius Pencil Neck mit einem Konus von 0,9° eine nutzbare Länge von 11,24mm. Konventionelle Geometrien hingegen ermöglichen lediglich eine Nutzlänge von 10,8mm.

Produkt Details / Technische Daten

Features EPDBP Epoch Deep Ball Pencil Neck:
Werkzeugtyp:VHM-Miniatur-Radiusfräser
Material:Mikro-Feinstkorn-Substrat
Radiustoleranz:± 5µ (0,005mm)
Abmessungen:R0,1(Ø0,2)mm bis R1,5(Ø3)mm
Nutzlängen:bis 35xØ
Konizität:0,4° und 0,9°
Ausführungen:50
Features EPDRP Epoch Deep Radius Pencil Neck:
Werkzeugtyp:torischer VHM-Miniaturfräser
Material:Mikro-Feinstkorn-Substrat
Eckenradiustoleranz:± 5µ (0,005mm)
Abmessungen:Ø0,2mm bis Ø3mm
Eckradien:0,05mm bis 0,5mm
Nutzlängen:bis 35xØ
Konizität:0,4° und 0,9°
Ausführungen:32

Kontakt

Herr Dilek Serifoglu
MMC Hitachi Tool Engineering Europe GmbH
Itterpark 12
40724 Hilden